And the Winner Is…


… ZVECE HUGA … SLOVAKO … ERM… ESLOVENIA!

If you ask me Alenka Gotar will win The Eurovision Song Contest. No?

 

 


15 responses to “And the Winner Is…

  • Sunshine

    I don’t think she’ll win. I simply gave up my hopes. On the other hand, I’m not even sure I would like her to win.😳

  • alcessa

    I thought she might for two reasons: it seems unusual, untypical genres are gaining way into Eurovision AND Slovenia has some top-level classical singers, so this would be something we ARE good at.
    By coincidence, I got to know last years German contribution: it was high quality country music, really good, if you ask me. It still wasn’t successful and the media here claim Eurovision is first and foremost a “political kitchen” where neighbouring countries give douze points to their neighbours…

    But why wouldn’t you like her to win?

  • Sunshine

    I agree with the claim that Eurovision is first and foremost a “political kitchen” (even though it can be fun to watch from time to time). And since we suck at this type of cooking I don’t think we can win.😦

    I wouldn’t like her to win because that would mean tremendous costs for hosting the show next year, without and significant long-term benefits of that victory. And since most of our politicians are morons (IMHO) I fear that they would additionally mess something up. With that I mean a hall, that can not be used for anything else, something too fancy-too expensive, a hall too big to ever be full again, inappropriate location or something similar. I’m just pessimistic when it comes to those things, because it seems that our people in charge can’t do anything right.😦

    P.S. I’m wondering if my present pessimism is additionally stressed because of the disgusting weather we have here today.😦😦

  • alcessa

    I’m sorry Sunshine, I’m afraid I agree with you (didn’t think about hosting) – I have to, I’m Slovenian, too.

    You know what? I realized yesterday how much longer the days have already become. It’s a good feeling, despite the weather…

  • Sunshine

    To put it precisely I wouldn’t like Slovenia to win, not Alenka Gotar. I have nothing against her or the song.

  • alcessa

    Have you tried singing along?😀
    I did: my throat climbed my nose and fell back into its place😀

  • Sunshine

    I didn’t. I’m tone deaf.😦 And I mean it. I can not hit a tone even if I could save lives with that act.😳 And I feel that’s so unfair. It’s injustice, it’s injustice *said the blond Kalimero*.😉

  • alcessa

    Holy s..t, I have the same problem and the same feelings about it.😦 (I sang while home alone) I am also a happy owner of kaputt vocal chords (ex-smoker) – I may sound like Tom Waits one day…

  • Sunshine

    I LOVE singing! I always hum along when I hear the song I like. I remember lyrics almost instantly. I melt if a guy sings to me. Some of my sweetest memories are the evenings around camp fire with taborniki, two or three guitars and people singing along. I’m totally extatic if someone pulls out a guitar at a private party. And yet, I can’t sing and that’s so unfair.

    The fact that I don’t have a talent for drawing doesn’t bother me at all. And I can dance fairly good. But the lack of singing abilities frustrates me and makes me sad. I feel like someone would be poking fun at me.😦

  • alcessa

    Even more: it’s like having music inside and knowing it cannot find its way out😦 no matter what you do…

    We used to sing A LOT at parties in Rozna dolina – luckily, it didn’t matter whether we could sing. I remember a particularly long, a-capella version of Jamajka (tudi to je Jamajka)…🙄

  • Sunshine

    I like the phrase “having music inside and knowing it cannot find its way out”. It’s exactly how I feel.😦 Unfortunately. And Jamajka is a great song!😉

  • crni

    I like her boobies.

  • alcessa

    Yesss, Crni, you are right. I also think she exudes ŽENSKOST with a capital Ž…

  • Cyberlizard

    Well, I caught the Slovenian entry and thought it was underrated. It made a change from the usual stuff, and Alenko Gotar’s voice at the end is very haunting. Impressive. I wish her continued success in her own career. I don’t know about Slovenia, but in the UK entering the Eurovision can mean the kiss of death to some artists!

    Could someone please translate ŽENSKOST, by the way?🙂

  • alcessa

    Yes, it means “femininity” – in the most positive way.🙂
    I think she should be doing fine after ESC, too…

