What An Impact, No. 2

“What is that?!?!?!?!?”

I guess we could agree I had shrieked. Shroken. Squeauken.

What I really did was react to ominous red scratches on our Prius’ silver-clad nonlying hip in a high-pitched voice that may or may not have sounded like a serious lack of enthusiasm.

“Oh, please/it’s just an old lady/she’s already feeling terrible/she didn’t mean it/of course we’re going to repair it/free of charge/as soon as possible/she didn’t mean it/we just don’t seem to have enough place/there are so many cars parking/I am so sorry/you won’t notice it’s been there …” Repeat.

That’s what you get if you shriek on a parking lot of a very busy local garage you intended to have your Obligatory Technical Inspection carried out by. At. On a Saturday.

“What’s that stink? Is there something wrong with our ersatz-Corolla?”

“I think this thing is called fuel. You need it to drive a car. Since we usually start driving electrically, especially when only just leaving, we never notice olfactorily our car uses gas, too.”

“Okay. Fuel. Gas. Olfactory. Remember the time we scared that poor grey-haired man in a parking garage because he couldn’t hear us driving behind him? I think he heard us only when I started to laugh so loudly…”

“Yeah, that was funny. He was cool. Laughing with us, as he did afterwards.”

“This is a very old Corolla, isn’t it?”

“Yes. Quite.”

“You know what?” The situation seems to be perfect for the old game of you-know-whatting the time away. Especially if you are sitting in a smelly old car you got as a replacement for the time your sweetheart is being serviced.

“What?” Well, here is a good sport at the wheel, isn’t here. There. He is.

“I don’t think I’ll ever want another car. Let’s stick to Prius from now on.”

“Good idea. But we should buy new models every now and then.”

“Of course: when there are enough of affordable used ones on the market … It’s just that I have grown so used to it and I like it for reasons I didn’t even know existed before.”

“That’s okay with me. I hope they will do away with those red scratches and carry out the inspection soon.”

They did. We got a phone call Sunday morning they needed the Corolla back and could we please fetch our Prius?

We could.

“I’ll have your coffee ready when you come back!” I promised.

I did.


6 responses to “What An Impact, No. 2

  • Bimbo

    Nedelja zjutraj? Sem prav razumel: nedelja? To je resen znak krize, da nemški mehaniki delajo ob nedeljah.

    Mogoče ti bo ta filmček v zabavo: http://www.status-symptome.de/filme/parkhaus. Meni se celotna zamisel zdi precej zabavna, čeprav z omejenimi izpusti in neslišno vožnjo nima nič skupnega.😉

  • Tina.

    Jaz bom tudi enkrat, ko bom velika, imela Priusa.🙂 Moja prijateljica Stephanie ga ima in se mi je vedno ful fajn z njo vozit naokrog.

    • alcessa

      🙂 No, evo, jaz sem bila dovolj velika pri … erm …37.

      Velik del tega, v čemer jaz uživam, je najbrž splošno razširjena moderna tehnika, ki jo poznajo tudi drugi avti novejše izdelave (v primerjavi s Seatom iz 1994, ki sva ga imela prej). Mislim raznorazne senzorje, občutek na cesti, pri zaviranju in podobno. Možnost polnjenja akum. za kamero, štrom za lasten navi …
      Dodatno mi je izredno všeč voziti avtomatika, česar nisem vedela, dokler nisem sprobala. Se mi zdi, da sem te že vprašala: vajina Toyota je tudi avtomatik, ne da?

      Specifično pa mi je pri Priusu zelo všeč, da lahko v garažo in iz garaže ipd. voziš na električni pogon, če si pridelal dovolj štroma – meni bencin pač res smrdi.

      Kar pri najinem Priusu ni tako dobro, je notranjost, ki zna biti malce improvizirana (v primerjavi s Seatom še vedno luksuzna, vseeno) ali ne preveč skrbno izdelana (tekstil), prtljažnik je absolutno premajhen🙂 in težko je pridobiti občutek za dolžino avta, kar povzroča težave pri parkiranju.

      • Tina.

        No, okej. Torej se imam ene tri leta in pol casa.😉

        Najina Yariska ni avtomatik–oba raje voziva z rocnim menjalnikom. In glede na to, da sva prej vozila Nissan 1994, je ze ta najin avtic pravi luksuz.🙂 Jaz si Priusa zelim predvsem zaradi elektrike, verjamem pa, da bi me kmalu prevzele tudi ostale funkcije.

      • alcessa

        Ročni menjalnik je za ljudi, ki se ne zmotijo pri menjavanju, kar zame ni mogoče reči😳

        Ja, občutek, ko zamenjaš tako različni generaciji avta, je res … vpadljiv🙂 Ni še dolgo tega, ko sem se avtomatsko zaustavila pred vrati za sopotnika pri prijateljičinem avtu in čakala, da vstopi in mi odpre vrata. Od znotraj, s kljuko😳😆

