The Little Mermaid’s Guide to Berlin

(This post was first published on 24.04.2007 – I am re-posting it today)

As I told you before, I cannot skate or ski or anything similar. Add to this confession the shameful fact that I have never been on Triglav and you are allowed to doubt my Slovenian origin.

But I can walk. I love to walk. I am going to spare you the list of cities, towns and places that have seen me roam through, suffice it to say that I plan to do el Camino de Santiago when I’m old and wrinkled, for the sheer length of it, and you get the picture.

Unless…
A flashback is necessary to explain the Unless part.


It is 6 p.m. and I’ve just realised my feet may climb the whole length of me, stop at my foreheadand kick me for having exposed them to so much heavy work. In other words: After having seen Knut we’ve spent several hours in the zoo and I am knackered. And I want to see Berlin. I need to see Berlin. Berlin is one of my secret addictions and this is the fourth time I have yielded to it. Too old to party now I have decided some serious tourism will do. The most important part of it: to see my beloved
Goldelse for the 4th time.

It turns out it is not a good idea for an established Little Mermaid to walk all the way from the zoo to the Victory Column, hoping the way is not too long, the feet can use a little bit more of gravity and something interesting will happen as an excuse for the self-destructive march. Not good at all.

I manage a photo or two of the Golden Lady and then I have to sit down. No way can I climb the stairs inside the column to see Berlin from above. We sit down on the wrong side of the Victory Column: I can see the Brandenburg Gate from there. The former symbol of the division of the world into two power blocs is shining brightly in the evening sun and of course we have to get there. As soon as I can get up, that is.

goldelse2.jpg brandenburgertor.jpg

When we have seen enough of the Gate I notice a large building nearby. It looks very interesting. Could this be-? It is. Walking really carefully now and sending positive thoughts to my feet, we approach it. There are people queueing to get in and there is grass in front of it. Lovely grass. I know tourists are let into the dome to get some first hand experience at democracy but I decide to stay, erm: sit where I am. I take photos of the German parliament instead. And of course of the sign saying “Berlin Wall”. Because the Wall is gone.

reichstag.jpg the-wall.jpg

Because of bad experiences so far I avoid turning my head too much lest I see something that needs to be seen at closer quarters. Walked to. The evening sun drapes the Reichstag into a soft light and-

“Isn’t that the Kanzleramt?” The Chancellor’s Office? Where? I turn my head. Let’s go- … and. See. I take a photo or two and then I announce I am actually dead now and there’s no need to-


Berlin Hauptbahnhof. There. Trains. Seats. Potsdam. Bed.

 berlin-hauptbahnhof-evening.jpg  bombardier.jpg

On the way there I seem to remember there was some public protest against the glass-panelled building that in my humble opinion fits wonderfully into its surroundings. Once inside it, I like it even more. Actually, I love it. If you get my meaning.


One response to “The Little Mermaid’s Guide to Berlin

  • http://www.dressful.com

    I’ve been fascinated with Berlin for the past 2 years, but apparently not enough to actually make a decision and *go* there. Not to mention happy coincidences such as this post, I keep reading about the city everywhere, it’s also the most popular destination among friends of friends, crazy. One day …🙂

