I ♥ ♥ ♥ Hensilki

I close the door carefully and turn to the left. I gasp. My Beloved catches up with me, he reads the plate and gasps a little, too. I think.

Unfortunately, the enclosure seems to be empty. There are trees, there is some water in a basin and there are even some dead chicken on the floor, but nothing else.  Noone else, that is.

We try to check every nook and cranny from the outside of the fence, but no luck.

“Let’s return a bit later,” I suggest, ever the patient, adult wife.

Half an hour later my heart starts beating fast and my grin could move tectonic plates if necessary. There it is. The main reason I’ll never never never forget Hensilki.

“Actually, it’s Helsinki, not Hensilki?” He was actually surprised at my creative pronunciation the first time I said it.

“I know,” I admitted, “but ever since I’ve made the mistake I cannot help repeating it. I do like the sound of ‘Hensilki’ more, so Hensilki it will be.” And it was. It is.

OK, OK, one of the main reasons I seriously adore Hensilki. It lives in a zoo, of all places. We went there because the weather was being gorgeous (28° C! And more sun than one can take photos of!) and we didn’t want to go to a museum or similar. I thought we’d walk around a little, make some nice photos and return to the city to make some lovely evening sun shots there.

And then …

And then I found out they keep one of the few birds I have developed a serious passion for during these few years, all the more so since I had never seen them alive before, though they do live in our part of the world.

So, are you ready? Are you ready?!?!?🙂

Ladies and gentleman, after the jump I give you …

… the one and only Pygmy Owl!

(Glaucidium Passerinum: mali skovik, varpuspöllö, Sperlingskauz, sparvuggla)

Isn’t it a sweetheart? ♥ ♥ ♥

OK, OK: let’s get serious. HERE are some of our favourite HENSILKI photos for you


19 responses to “I ♥ ♥ ♥ Hensilki

