Who Cares?!? About Food Myths.

I seldom read about more serious aspects of food, like articles about which foods are really healthy and which are not, mostly because I simply don’t care for them. You don’t really need much time or brain to realize that as to the most topics in this field of knowledge, scientists ain’t gonna agree any time soon. My brain cell tells me what I want is healthy, delicious food and not a food ideology to prove I am better than the rest.

As we all know,  some people might feel the urge to protect their version of what’s right and what’s wrong all too vigorously. I tend to cringe in the presence of statements like “my eating habits are better than yours”, for the philistinity and the righteousness, for the sheer angst and agression of it all. So don’t ask me whether organic veggies are better than the industrial ones: some might, some may not, I don’t know. I just prefer the organic ones, that’s all.

Whenever I asked myself whether it was risky to be a vegetarian in the past, my answer used to be something like “Just look at those Hindus/Buddhists etc.”, some of them being vegetarian for generations. That’s just about enough of food-related science for me, I need the rest of time to enjoy my veggies.

Having a direct access to information on meat-related health problems being passed from one generation to another helped, too.

Still, after having read two articles (1 and 2) on debunked food myths I found some time ago, I was still shocked about the nature of some of the topics people will agree/disagree about and some of the myths spreading out there.

One more reason not to start reading articles on food.

I am sorry, but I don’t care about your food choices hard enough to strenuously preach veggies to you, okay?

(One Sunday, I wanted to eat veggies very much so I simply told my hubby it wouldn’t be a bad idea if he joined me. He agreed but I still felt the need to decorate them a bit, which he realized straight away, laughing.)


7 responses to “Who Cares?!? About Food Myths.

  • yemi

    Agree.Jaz sem precej zaprisežen mesojed (čeprav v relativno majhnih količinah, go figure), pa vseeeno nimam navade, da bi ljudi silila s krvavicami. Nekak ni higienično.

  • Jzf

    Zanimiva članka. In se strinjam, o hrani obstaja preveč nekih mitov. Mnenj in “pravih oblik prehranjevanja” je pa itak toliko, kot nas je in vsak ima “najboljše” nasvete. Haha.
    V preteklosti sem s hrano “eksperimentirala” na različne načine – od jesti zelo malo/nič do skoraj OCD obdobja, potem vegetarijanstvo, presnojedstvo … ma, ni da ni. Na koncu sem vesela, da sem se s hrano spoprijateljila, hkrati pa tudi s telesom in tem, kar mi sporoča. Tako si včasih z največjim veseljem privoščim malo mesa, čeprav mi navadno bolj ustreza zelenjavna prehrana. Pač poslušam telo in se ravnam po letnih časih🙂

    • alcessa

      Točno tako si predstavljam prehrambene navade odraslega človeka. Jej, kar ti paše, in stoj za tem, kar ješ, pa ne misli, da bi tudi drugi morali jesti isto🙂

      Moje srednje ime je Jojo (jep, Alcessa Jojo Losulja) in moja zadnja učna naloga je bila, sprejeti dejstvo, da človek vsak dan potrebuje določeno število kalorij (kot človekica sedulja jih jaz rabim manj), za katere je najbolje, da jih pridobim z zdravo hrano, ne rabim pa delati panike okrog njih (itak moj apetit ni ravno gromozanski), ker manj kalorij danes jutri zagotovo in preverjeno privede do večje telesne teže. Lesson learned🙂

  • matilda

    danes sem mojo krvavico dekorirala z dvema kozarcema refoška. gooood.

  • Bimbo

    Alcessa hvala za zanimivi povezavi. Tudi jaz se držim tega: kar paše, paše in od nečesa je treba umret. Zato raje umrem zaradi sladkorja, soli, mesa, mleka, zelenjave kot pa zaradi lakote ali, še huje, da bi umrl zdrav in brez razloga. Človek se tisočletja sprašuje, od kod in zakaj je, kam gre itn., po novem pa naj bi se zaradi pomoči nutricionistov po stoletju strogo nadzorovanega življenja spraševal še zakaj (ne) umre!? Skrajno bizarno.😉

