Tell Me Something.

You know, one of the things I generally expect from places I visit is to offer me some clues, some useful sights or sounds or ideas that will add to any of my currently developing … narrations, theories (or should I call them “inner discourses”?) and help me think on.

No, I don’t mean anything esoteric or anything special or brainy or stuff and I know that big cities will throw clues and signs and denotations and connotations and symbols at you like there is no tomorrow.

I simply mean small things that will be there accidentally (or because they have always been there) when I pass, let me notice them and either prove or allow me to further develop or discard one of the thoughts or even thought systems I am currently working on.

See, that’s what happens if … you are me. You muse for pleasure.

– – –

Anyway: Paris disappointed, London didn’t and Berlin was pure … firework. But I was so much younger then.

– – –

Thinking gets easier when walking, everyone and their wives knows this. But I usually don’t expect from pure nature to teach me about society, culture, life and all the fish. I tend to simply enjoy it.

– – –

I have been reading a book on the History of economy and I am loving it: mostly because I know nothing about it and thus learn new things in every sentence.

– – –

So, for example, Adam Smith thought that when an individual pursues his self-interest, he indirectly promotes the good of society (the so called “invisible hand theory“). As you may have heard before, we need economy because we live in a world in which most goods are scarce and have to be obtained and/or used and/or distributed cleverly. Generally, individual persons, businesses, organizations, states etc. will make an effort to use things cleverly and get the most possible out of them or to reach everything that’s possible by using limited means. Sounds logical?

So we have limited resources, need to know and learn how to handle them to the best effect and we tend to search for the ways to best satisfy our self-interest.

Wait a moment! – Is that what you’re thinking right now?!? So it has occurred to you, too, that most of us aren’t exactly living in a world of scarcity, au contraire? So you read about food that gets thrown away, by shops and individuals alike, about clothes worn for one season, about status objects that don’t really serve any other purpose most  of the time? Useful self-interest, really?😯

Maybe, just maybe, Mr. Smith would have had to develop a different general theory if confronted with most parts of our modern Western civilization? The Economy of Abundance? Or at least some never-heard-of-before marketing approaches?

– – –

Anyway, while walking in Pfalz on Sunday I mused about the fact that it seems so easy to create abundance or simply have access to it nowadays, at least in some areas. Yes, even in the EU shattered by one crisis after another.😯

You know, like stuff lovers across the globe will die for.

Or forest birds.

1 golobica

But what if the killer had made a mistake and this was the one and only and therefore damn scarce Peace Dove?

– – –

Just thinking aloud is all.

Don’t hate me for my trivial economy discussion, I have yet to learn so many things. Oh, and, dear eager American friends: this is just some theory and to no avail at all.


6 responses to “Tell Me Something.

