Nut Loaf. Wow.

To tell you the truth, I find the word meat loaf to be one of the most despicable ones existing.

To me, it denotes a meticulous concoction to scare away people in law.
Something sticky, chewy, full of bad taste and of ugly colour, on purpose and without purpose.
Something you are forced to eat, which will then turn up as a nasty background feeling in the night, while you’re trying hard to have your David Beckham dream without Vic popping up at bad moments, and failing miserably…

And the singer? Hate his guts, too.

So when I read there is such thing as nut roast yesterday I first checked it up and was annoyed by the fact it is also called “roasted nut loaf”. Eurgh.

Which is when I found Green Gourmet Giraffe’s blog. And decided nut roast must be something I should have found, thought of and most of all done before. Damn!

So I made it today. As far as color is concerned, I didn’t have more luck than my carnivore friends:

P1190111

But the trick is in the taste. The smell. The feel. Let me put it that way:

I LOVE nut loaves.

My first one had a most lovely crust, but was all crumbly and crunchy on the inside, not sticky or chewy at all. Beginner’s luck:

P1190115

Now listen: it doesn’t matter whether you are vegetarian or not. Let us just agree that meat loaves are an abomination and to be replaced by nut loaves. Thank you.

Wanna give it a try?

It took me:

2 eggs
appr. 50 g grated cheese
appr. 100 g hazelnuts
1 spoon chickpea meal
5 spoons sunflower seeds
veggies: 1 zucchini, 1 red bell pepper, 5 brown champignon mushrooms, 1 large carrot
salt and black pepper

1 hour preparation time: 15 minutes to clean, pulp or grate the veggies and mix it all together and to heat up the oven (175 °C), further 45 minutes  baking time

1. I mashed zucchini, paprika and mushrooms in my blender – I got quite a thick veggie smoothie and just added some salt and some black pepper.

2. I grated the cheese and the carrot (it adds crunchiness).

3. Then I just mixed everything together in a bowl: eggs, veggies, cheese, sunflower seeds, chickpea meal and also ground hazelnuts, which I was adding in the end and gradually, to control the quantity and the density of the “dough” – this means I have no idea how much I really added but it looked like 100 grams🙂.

4. In the end, I oiled our loaf tin, put in the mess I’ve made and let it bake and also dry out for 45 minutes.

The whole new Universe of Nut Roast just opened for me today … Listen: JUST DO IT. The way you want to or if unsure, check out the GGG’s blog, she’s got more recipes than we have opportunities to try them out. You have noticed this is the gluten free version, right? And you know vegan versions are a yummy possibility, too?🙂


8 responses to “Nut Loaf. Wow.

  • Nika

    Le kako ne bi? Opazila… Hvala, zelo si pozorna.
    Sicer imam eno bedno izkušnjo z nekakšnimi štrucami, res pa je, da ni vsebovala oreščkov in semen. A potem praviš, da je zares vredno poskusiti? Ideja za jutrišnje kosilo.
    Jaz bom seveda notri vtaknila še por (a ti maraš por?), zraven pa okronana jamrala, da bo čisto brez okusa…

    • alcessa

      Nika, pogumno: če ti ne bo všeč, premisli, ali bi lahko kaj spremenila in izumi svoj recept. Drugače pa je to ena od tistih zadev, ki mi je povsem slučajno (recept sem si preprosto izmislila) uspela – veliko bolj kot marsikaj drugega.
      Por imam rada (porova juha NJAMI), ne morem pa ga jesti, ker mi je od njega slabo … Dokler nisi prišla ti, sem mislila, da samo mi taki s premočno kislino ne jemo česna in sorodnikov … zdaj pa praviš, da kislega ne maraš (kar ni isto kot preveč kisline, lahko bi pa bilo), česen pa ja… in sem spet zmedena.

      BTW, na blog Zelene Žirafe se splača pogledati, ker ima seznam vegetarijanskih receptov, označenih z gf (gluten free) in v (vegan), pa še česen in čebulo uporablja …🙂

  • Johanna GGG

    Oh am so pleased you have discovered nut loaves – was never a big fan of meat loaf before becoming vegetarian but now I couldn’t live without nut loaves (I often call them nut roasts because my mum often made a date and nut cake she called nut loaf). They are not photogenic but they taste amazing. Thanks for the shout out to my nut roast obsession🙂

    • alcessa

      I am going to call them nut roast, too, I just couldn’t help myself and had to say some bad words about the meat loaf … to make it more dramatic😳
      Since I live in Germany, I am going to need a German expression anyway (maybe vegetable cake or something)🙂

      I seriously admire your blog and the multitude of recipes you’ve done in all these years – I am also very thankful for the opportunity to find a recipe if in need🙂 Been vegetarian since 1992, but I don’t think I can come up with so many different dishes🙂 (this is pure admiration speaking).

  • Nika

    Ja, sem si ogledala, res se najdejo fajn recepti.
    To s porom in kislino je pa intrigantno… Jaz kislega ne maram, pa tudi dejansko imam hitro preveč kisline. Ne vem pa, kako naj bi česen & co. vplivali na to.

    • alcessa

      Tina (veganka, ki tudi vedno kuha s česnom) mi je enkrat povedala, da ima njen mož težave z zgago in tudi ni ljubitelj teh zadev – če se prav spomnim.
      Kakor koli, enkrat sem bila na žuru v Bunkerju, z dobro družbo, naredili smo tudi piknik in jedla sem kruh s sirom in rezinami čebule. Že tisto noč mi je bilo slabo, pa sem mislila, da od alkohola, naslednji dan pa se mi je ob misli na čebulo začelo vrteti od hudega. Pozneje sem probala in ugotovila, da ne gre več. Česna itak nisem nikoli uporabljala ali preveč jedla, ker bi me bilo sram, da bi mi po njem smrdelo iz ust (pač mam zelo občutljiv nos in sem hitro tečna glede smrada – predstavljaj si: v našem supermarketu so pred vhodom postavili kiosk z mesninami – ne govorim o vhodu zunaj, temveč notri, pred vrtečim križem in košaricami😥 ). Hudega mi zaradi tega ni, ker ne gre za zelenjavo, ki bi mi kaj pomenila. Hudo mi je, če nabašem na okužene solatne liste in jih pozabim oprati, potem pa ostane tedna preživim na veceju … Ali pa ko bi jedla zelenjavo z zelenjavo in zelenjavo (to se mi velikokrat zgodi), pa ne morem, ker sem presegla porcijo, pri kateri moja želodčna kislina reče Opa sestra, pa te mam!🙂

  • Nika

    A okužene solatne liste od česna & čebule ali od česa drugega?
    Včeraj sem naredila štruco, meni je bila všeč, moja dva (ki jesta še kaj drugega kot kašice) pa sta sicer pojedla vsak en košček, ampak bolj iz vljudnosti kot zaradi užitka… Eh, klinc jih gleda! Dodole bosta dobila na mizo, pa bo mir.

    • alcessa

      Ko solatne liste pakirajo v vrečke, jih včasih tudi s čim okužijo. Na vrečki piše “za takojšnjo uporabo”, vendar to ni čisto res in je zadevo pametno oprati. Če sem pri tem lena in je ne sperem, se mi kdaj tudi maščuje z bivanjem v veceju …🙂

      Štruca: ja no, okusi so res različni🙂

