Lost In Batumi. Or So.

When I return from the toilet, there’s noone there. Not my husband, not the group of birdwatchers we have spent an hour with laughing and feasting on all that lovely Georgian food.

The next second I am angry. What on Earth was I thinking and even more, doing?!?!! My inner answer dropdown list contains only one answer: “Damn nothing.” Like, I have no contact data of the others. No idea how to get anywhere – their office, our guesthouse, anywhere. No lari, just a few euros. I don’t know why everyone has left, either. OK, the group has forgotten all about us, but my husband?

The next second, he appears from the toilet, too. Whew, everything’s going to be alright now. Apart from the fact I still need an answer to the question above. How come I have abandoned my self-sufficiency to a degree where I would have been in serious trouble if really left alone? Am I not the proponent of the theory a marriage is also a contract, encompassing all the agreements, silent and spoken, that occur in the course of wedded life? Am I not a living proof, on most days anyway, that Yes, I Can Survive? Surely my husband has internalized that as a fact. And here I was, just a moment before, not knowing what the heck and where to next.

Well, I decide on the spur of the moment, high time I got myself a smartphone. Then I can save all the relevant information and use the phone for navigation if necessary. And next time I leave all the planning to my husband I should still get all the relevant data, just in case. No voyage should be undertaken in a state of under-information!🙂

Oh, I see I haven’t named the place this important knowledge was arrived at: It’s Batumi, a city on the Black Sea coast. The capital of Adjara, an autonomous republic in Georgia. The wettest city in Georgia and the whole Caucasus region. On the whole, we had two wet and one sunny day – wanna see pictures? Rainy days first.

7_Black Sea
The Black Sea was clearly gray that day.

7_buubs

Raining … boobs. Much photographed by surprised looking young men and yours truly.

7_colchis leo

This leo is an important artefact portraying the high level The Colchian culture was capable of. Colchis was the place Jason and Medea met, also, the gold-hair ram with its famous Golden Fleece lived there.

Time for some sunshine:

7_panel

7_turm

7_chacha fountain

This Chacha Tower delivers free chacha every night at 7 p.m. – for 10 minutes.

7_alphabet

The Alphabet Tower: the modern Georgian script is from the 10th century, its name Mkhedruli meaning “cavalry” or “military”. Anyone having learnt the older two Georgian scripts, Asomtavruli and Nuskhuri, is able to read texts from older periods, too, because the meanings of the words (from 5th century onwards) haven’t changed at all or not too much, at least that was what we were told in the National Museum in Kutaisi.


Comments are disabled.

