Scottish Oatcakes. But Of Course.

First disclosure of the year: I like food.

Second disclosure of the year: I adore oats.

I am sure these two are enough to be rewarded a honorary Scottish citizenship (I won’t mention The Outlander, I promise), but to further improve my chances of owning, say, a flock of sheep in the most beautiful Highlands there are, I decided to try making Scottish Oatcakes following a recipe of someone who knows how to make them resemble the original oatcakes.

Jep, that would be Walkers Highland Oatcakes.

So, are they difficult to make? No:

2 cups coarsely ground oats (mine were wholemeal and I used a food processor)

1/2 whole wheat flour (ähm, I used whole spelt flour)

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 eggs (it says one in the recipe, but mine were small)

2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted (mine was Irish)

2 tbsp liquid honey (mine was Turkish)

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, oats, salt and baking powder, add egg(s), butter and honey, blend well, roll out (0,5 cm), cut into shapes (mine were square), bake for 20 minutes at 160 °C.

Serve with things to spread on or simply eat away.

This is not my first ground oats recipe and I am sure it can be veganized – Walkers oatcakes contain vegetable oil and not butter, no honey, and I am sure the egg is optional. It will still all stick together anyway.

Luckily, I managed to make some pictures:

P1290162

P1290165

P1290175


2 responses to “Scottish Oatcakes. But Of Course.

