Happy Moose: Week 32/2016

At the end of the week, Adorno comes to mind: “There’s no right food with the wrong one” and while I might feel inclined to agree with my mind, I am also happy this Sunday, so I won’t. No right or wrong today.

The thing is, we cycled and took a train to this small Schwarzwald village where they had their very first Street Food Festival. It all looked great but it soon turned out most trucks were simply offering hamburgers. Not even my wedded carnivore wanted any, so we searched. And got lucky: truffles! As in: French fries with parmezan, basil and truffle sauce. They were DELICIOUS and made my day for a while and also afterwards.

pommes

The thing is, we really wanted to try out many new things but most trucks sold or smelled of garlic and/or onions and we don’t believe good cooking should contain any of these (Where’s the creativity if everything contains garlic?), so we simply walked by a few times (I only felt like abusing Adorno afterwards, safely at home).

In the end, I tried fried ice, because my curiosity would sue me for negligence if I didn’t and it was OK. The ice was really good but the batter was nothing special, so there’s no need for me to repeat the experiment any time soon. 

P1350486

I also had a glass of sangria, which brought about happy memories (Spain!) and then we cycled towards the sun … Home. Where the best food is.


One response to “Happy Moose: Week 32/2016

